award winners & finalists 2022

Queensland Seafood Industry Awards 2022

2022 Award Winners & Finalists

Congratulations to all winners and "good luck" for the National Seafood Awards presented at the 2022 Seafood Directions Conference.
Research Development & Extension Award Winners - Kim Hooper, EO APFA and Annie Jarrett, EO Northern Prawn Fishery

Research, Development & Extension Award

Winner: ACPF, APFA, Curtin University & Source Certain


  • Andrew Chin
  • Ridley Agriproducts, Richard Smullen
Caption: Kim Hooper, EO APFA and Annie Jarrett, EO Northern Prawn Fishery accepting the RD&E Award from Former Senator, John Williams, Chair FRDC
Environment Award winner - Ridley Agriproducts

Environment Award

Winner: Richard Smullen, Ridley Agriproducts


  • Commercial Trawl Fin Fish (Stout Whiting) Fishery Harvest Strategy and Data Validation Programme, Mark Webster
  • Debbies Seafoods, Natalie Fitzgerald
Caption: Richard Smullen, Ridley Agriproducts accepting the Environment Award from Dr Patrick Hone, Managing Director, FRDC


Promotion Award winners - Adpower, Ben Hale & Qld Dept of Agriculture and Fisheries

Promotion Award

Winner: Adpower, Ben Hale & Qld Dept of Agriculture and Fisheries


  • Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries, Rachel King
  • Tassal Group – Tropic Co Prawns, Kelly McCullough
Caption: Ben Hale receiving the Promotion Award on behalf of Adpower and Qld DAF from Brett Arlidge, General Manager MG Kailis Lobster
Safety Award winner - SeSafe

Safety Award

Winner: SeSafe, Steve Eayrs


  • Stay Afloat Programme, Jo Marshall
Caption: Dr Patrick Hone, Managing Director, FRDC accepting the Safety Award on behalf of SeSafe from Kim Hooper, EO, APFA
Small Business Award winner - Malanda Seafood

Business (Small) Award

Winner: Malanda Seafood


  • Gulf Caught Seafood Pty Ltd, Jamie Carroll
Caption: Neil Moretto, Secretary QSMA accepting the Small Business Award on behalf of Malanda Seafoods from Arty Raptis, CEO A Raptis & Sons
Large Business Award winner - Debbie’s Seafood

Business (Large) Award

Winner: Debbie’s Seafood


  • Aussie Seafood House, Ian Hamilton
  • Walker Seafoods, Heidi Walker
Captions: Mark and Debbie Ahearn accepting the Large Business Award from Veronica Pappacosta, CEO, SIA

Young Achiever Award

Winner: Beau Anderson, A Raptis and Sons


  • Irving Furedi, Aussie Seafood House
Caption: Arty Raptis accepting the Young Achiever Award on behalf of winner Beau Anderson (A Raptis and Sons) with SIA CEO, Veronica Pappacosta
People Development Award winner - Torres Strait Regional Authority, Ian Knuckey

People Development Awards

Winner: Torres Strait Regional Authority


  • Umar Nguyen, Platinum Provedore
Caption: Ian Knuckey (right) accepting the People Development Award on behalf the Torres Strait Regional Development Council from Graeme Bolton, Deputy Director General, Fisheries and Forestry
Restaurant Award Winner -Harrisons Restaurant - Port Douglas

Restaurant Award

Winner: Harrisons Restaurant, Port Douglas


  • Bisou Bisou, Brisbane
Caption: Celebrity chef Alastair McLeod accepting the Best Restaurant Award on behalf of Harrisons Restaurant, Port Douglas.
Primary Producer Award winner - Benjamin Day

Best Fish & Chips Award - Judge's Choice

Winner: Benjamin Day


  • Aussie Red Crab – Fraser Isle Spanner Crab
    Jason Simpson
  • Rocky Point Aquaculture
    Serena Szipf
Caption: Winner of the Primary Producer Award was Ben Day which was presented by Graeme Bolton, Deputy Director General, Fisheries and Forestry
Ambassador Award Winner - Matt West

Ambassador Award

Winner: Matt West, Australian Prawn Farms

Caption: Winner of Seafood Ambassador Award, Matt West, with Annie Jarrett, EO, Northern Prawn Fishery.

Previous Award Winners & Finalists